• The NTSE program started in the year 1963 by NCERT
         • National Talent Search Examination is a national-level scholarship program in India.
         • It is one of the most prestigious exams in India.
         • This exam is conducted to identify and recognize students with high intellect and academic talent
         • It honors' and helps talented students by providing financial assistance in the form of a monthly scholarship for the entire Academic Career.
         • The scheme, therefore, covers areas like Sciences, Social Sciences, Engineering, Medicine, Management and Law


         • To Identify and Nurture talented students.
         • To help talented students by providing financial assistance in the form of a monthly scholarship for a entire academic career.

Benefits of KVPY program

         • Scholarship
         • Get Preference in Study Abroad
         • Build Confidence
         • Get Admission in Top Education Institutes
         • You Get a Competitive Edge When Applying for a Job


         • Rs.1250 per month will be given from class XI to XII
         • Rs.2000 per month will be given for UG and PG courses


There is two stage selection process in NTSE scholarship exam stage 1 and stage 2.


         • At Stage-I, selection is done at State level (including UT) through a written examination,.
         • Each State /Union Territory mentions a fix allocation of students to appear in the Stage –II examination.
         • NTSE Stage-1 is conducted by SIERT (State Institute of Educational Research and Training).


         • Only those students who have qualified stage-1 exam can appears for Stage-II.
         • Stage-2 is conducted by NCERT at national level.
         • Every student who have secured the required number of marks at Stage-II is qualified for the scholarship program.


Stage- 1

         • NTSE Stage-I is conducted by State/UT bodies.
         • The students studying in Class X are eligible for appearing in the test.
         • They are required to have obtained 60% marks in their Class IX, in the last academic year.
         • Student must be studying in a recognized school in the respective State or Union Territory.
         • The SC, ST and PH category candidates get a relaxation of 5% and the maximum score they must have obtained in their Class IX is 55% marks.
         • Students registered under Open Distance Learning (ODL) are also considered eligible for the scholarship examination, if he/she is below the age of 18 years (as on July 1, 2017) and is not employed while appearing for Class X exam.

Stage- 2

         • Students, securing 80% marks or above in the State level exam, are eligible for the Stage-II to be held by NCERT at National level.
         • Around 4000 students are shortlisted for the National level NTSE across the country.
         • All the students, who secure the minimum required marks at Stage-II, are eligible for the scholarship program

Exam Pattern for Stage-I/ Stage II

Part 1 – Mental Ability test (MAT)

         • This part contains analytical and logical reasoning based questions.
         • This section tests the candidate’s reasoning, ability to think, evaluate, ability to discriminate and visualize.
         • A total of 50 questions are asked to be answered under this section.
         • Questions are asked from analogies, classifications, series, pattern perception, coding-decoding, hidden figures and problem solving etc.

Part 2 – Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)

         • This part consists of 150 questions from Language and Science, Mathematics and Social science.
         • The section judges the aspirant’s reading abilities, interpretation, evaluation and general awareness of the subjects.

NTSE Marking scheme


No. Of Questions

Maximum Marks

Time Allotted


50 Questions

50 Marks

45 minutes

SAT - Language Test

50 Questions

50 Marks

45 minutes

SAT - Mathematics, Science, Social Sciences

100 Questions

100 Marks

90 minutes


         • Each correct answer is awarded 1 mark.
         • there is no negative marking applicable at this stage.

Stage- II

         • Each correct answer is awarded 1 mark.
         • a negative marking of 1/3 marks is applicable on every wrong answer marked by the candidate

         • Mode of examination-          offline
         • Duration-                                 180 Minutes

         • Qualifying marks:
                  • General category:          40% in each subject.
                  • SC/ST/PH:                       35% in each subject.

         • Reservation









Important dates

Stage-1(state level)

         • Last date for submission of application form-          last week of august
         • Examination in Uttarakhand-                                     1st week of November (Sunday)

Stage-1(National level)

         • Examination in all over India-                            2nd week of May (Sunday)